akppc.blogg.se

The ugly doodles
The ugly doodles









All of my children's reviews can be found at. My full review of this book will post to my blog on 7/14/20. I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I would recommend The Ugly Doodles for all children from early pre-K through middle elementary school! I thought it was a captivating story that will keep young readers delighted again and again! Overall, I obviously really loved this story. I loved all her ideas to make them just go away, but I really enjoyed her realization that she could fix these doodles and they would be wonderful. Outside of the little spooky story, the idea of Raven trying desperately to get rid of her art because it isn’t good enough was a great plot. It’s not enough to scare any littles that are reading this fabulous book with you, it’s just enough that you, as an adult, know that this could be spooky. The plot was perfect, and a little spooky at times, to be honest! I really enjoyed the creepy twist that was put into this story. It’s a wonderful work of art on each page. Even the doodles are something to stop and look at. The care the was put into each page is so obvious, and it pays off. I love Raven’s beautiful curly hair and her big bright eyes.

the ugly doodles

Raven is a delightful character, and I would really love to see more of her in future books. Her attitude and approach to her reappearing doodle problem had my daughter and I giggling over and over. She’s determined and ambitious, and I found that to be endearing, and something to inspire young readers. We’ve now read it like 5 nights in a row for bedtime because my daughter can’t get enough of it! I thought this book was more than a 5-star children’s book. It’s up to Raven to embrace her own imperfections and accept her ugly doodles so that she can see them for the masterpieces that they are. She continues to hide them in different places only to have them show up again and again. But that night, they start popping up everywhere. She continues to throw her discarded doodles on the floor until her mother says, enough is enough. Except that she just can’t get one right.

the ugly doodles

She visits a museum and has her heart set to draw beautiful doodles to cover the walls in her own home. ✔️ An “It’s okay to not be perfect” Story Well, this book checked all the boxes for me!











The ugly doodles